Skip to content


2012 MACCDC Scenario

This year’s scenario involves student teams working for the Hospital of the East Collective (HEC); a collective of 8 regional hospitals with the mission to provide quality health services and facilities for the community, to promote wellness, to relieve suffering, and to restore health as swiftly, safely, and humanely as can be done, consistent with the best service provided at the highest value for all concerned.

In late 2011, the Board hired an outside consulting team to completely update the Electronic Medical Record (EMR) solution. At the same time, it was decided to network all 8 regional facilities with the central hospital (HQ). This move makes HEC compliant with the new federal regulations and allows HEC to participate in the Greater East Health Information Exchange.


Johns Hopkins University
Applied Physics Laboratory
Kossiakoff Center
11100 Johns Hopkins Rd.
Laurel, MD 20723

March 14-17, 2012

2012 Competition Video

Scenario: Hospital of the East Collective (HEC), a collective of 8 regional hospitals providing quality health services and facilities. Speaker Symposium. Huge in-person spectator component. Towson Univ. won.

Regional Final Team Standings
  1. Towson University
  2. Millersville University
  3. James Madison University (VA)/Radford University – tie
Regional Final Teams
  1. Capitol College, MD
  2. Howard Community College, MD
  3. James Madison University, VA
  4. Millersville University, PA
  5. Radford University, VA
  6. Towson University, MD
  7. Univ. of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC)
  8. West Virginia University
2012 Qualifying Round Teams
  1. Capitol College (Maryland)
  2. Howard Community College (Maryland)
  3. James Madison University (Virginia)
  4. Millersville University (Pennsylvania)
  5. Radford University (Virginia)
  6. Towson University (Maryland)
  7. University of Maryland, Baltimore County (Maryland)
  8. West Virginia University (West Virginia)
  9. Virtual Qualifying Round Teams
  10. Anne Arundel Community College (MD)
  11. Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College (NC)
  12. Bowie State University (MD)
  13. Capitol College (MD)
  14. Catawba Valley Community College (NC)
  15. Community College of Baltimore County (MD)
  16. Craven Community College (NC)
  17. Delaware Technical and Community College (DE)
  18. George Mason University (VA)
  19. George Washington University (DC)
  20. Hagerstown Community College (MD)
  21. Howard Community College (MD)
  22. James Madison University (VA)
  23. Liberty University (VA)
  24. Millersville University (PA)
  25. Norfolk State University (VA)
  26. Northern Virginia Community College (VA)
  27. Prince George’s Community College (MD)
  28. Radford University (VA)
  29. Towson University (MD)
  30. University of Maryland, Baltimore County (MD)
  31. University of Maryland, College Park (MD)
  32. University of Maryland University College (MD)
  33. West Virginia University (WV)
  34. Wilmington University (DE)

Sponsors & Supporters

  • US Army Intelligence and Security Command – INSCOM (Diamond)
  • Booz Allen Hamilton (Platinum)
  • Department of Homeland Security (Platinum)
  • EC-Council (Platinum)
  • FireEye (Platinum)
  • Neustar (Platinum)
  • Northrop Grumman (Platinum)
  • Solera Networks (Platinum)
  • Tenable Network Security (Gold)
  • CyberCenter at Anne Arundel Community College (Silver)
  • CTI@bwtech (Silver)
  • Deloitte (Silver)
  • MITRE (Silver)
  • SPAWAR (Silver)
  • TASC (Silver)
  • Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Community College of Baltimore County
  • Prince George’s Community College
  • National Science Foundation
  • iSIGHT Partners
National Science Foundation Operations/Gold Team:
  • Michael Dougherty
  • Kerry McKay
  • Lewis Lightner
  • Justin Monk
  • Daniel Mroz
  • Michael Mazikas
  • Rebecca Dorffner
White Team Coordinator:
  • Matt Cerny
Law Enforcement Coordinator:
  • Matthew McFadden
iSIGHT Partners:
  • Tim Rosenberg
  • Dwight Hobbs
  • Thomas Blackard
  • Paul Asadoorian
  • John Strand
  • Larry Pesce
  • Darren Wigley
  • Mike Perez
Red Team:
  • Justin Wray
  • Mark Reinsfelder
  • Matt Wines
  • Ben Heise
  • Brad Bowers
  • Michael LaSalvia
  • Sam Kinch
  • Raphael Mudge
  • Gerry Brunelle
  • Scott Hazel
  • Rob Fuller
  • Georgia Weideman
  • Jesse Varsalone
  • Chris Stoneburner
  • Chris Plummer
  • Chase Cunningham
  • Vlad Gostomelsky
  • Jesse Hudlow
  • Steve Collmann
  • Jeff Scaparra
  • Andrew Santell
National CyberWatch Center:
  • Casey W. O’Brien
  • Dr. Costis Toregas
  • Lewis Lightner
  • Dr. Davina Pruitt-Mentle
  • Dr. Bob Spear
  • Dr. Vera Zdravkovich
  • Carrie Leary
  • Teri Kepner
  • Fran Melvin
  • Diane Webb
  • Dr. Portia Pusey
  • John Sener
  • Michael Burt
Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (APL):
  • Jay Turner
  • Charlie Frick
  • Mark Matties
  • Laura Nolan
  • Kristi Marren
  • Geoff Brown
  • Jim Kave
  • Stacy Murphy
  • Gina Ellrich
  • Michael Silberglitt
  • Josh Smith
  • Casey W. O’Brien (Producer)
  • Neil Rubenstein (Executive Producer)
  • John O’Brien (Director)
  • Steve Ferraro (Engineer in Charge)
  • David Walton (Camera Operator/Lighting Director)
  • Lee Hobson (Camera Operator)
  • Bill Rogers (Camera Operator/Set construction)
  • David Soisson (Graphic Design/Playback)
  • Bill Kaplan (Chief Audio Engineer)
  • David Vespoint (Audio 2)
  • Nick Brezzell (Grip)
  • Ed Whitman (Still Photographer)
  • Charles Frick (Content Analyst/Pit Talent)
  • Larry Pesce (Content Analyst/Pit Talent)
  • Cara Ferraro (Production Assistant)
  • John Strand (Host)
  • Paul Asadoorian (Host)
  • Dr. Costis Toregas (CEO/Talent)
Prince George’s Community College:
  • Dr. Charlene Dukes
  • Dr. Sandy Dunnington
  • Fran Melvin
  • Diane Webb
  • Teri Kepner
  • Michael Burt
Community College of Baltimore County:
  • Casey W. O’Brien
  • Mike Netzer
  • Noell Damron
  • Jesse Varsalone
  • Jeremy Hoffman
  • Joel Martin
  • Lou Lewis
  • Juan Botero
  • Lina Almansa
All the Volunteers!