Skip to content


2010 MACCDC Scenario

The City of Avalon (population 550,000) has been chosen to host the 2010 World Convention. This year’s topic is: Global Cyber Security: Dealing with the Rise of Computer Crime and War.

Avalon has a long history of renewing, reclaiming, and redeveloping its environment while demonstrating a commitment to employing green technology to further economic recovery and development. Illustrating this is the fact that the 2010 World Convention will be held at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center, the world’s first and largest green convention center.

You are part of a team that supports Emergency Operations and inter/intra-agency communications. You will be working to support the 2010 World Convention and manage all communications between the various agencies. The multi-national convention is bringing together high-level delegates from around the world to discuss several sensitive issues. We have reports that there are parties interested in disrupting the convention through electronic and physical means. In the event of a disaster or emergency, you will be called upon to manage the incident alongside your normal IT duties.


SAIC Conference Center
First Floor
6841 Benjamin Franklin Drive
Columbia, MD 21046

March 11-13, 2010

2010 Competition Video

Columbia, MD (SAIC). Scenario: City of Avalon hosts World Convention. Sponsor booths added. Full packet capture (38 GB). UMBC won.

2010 Teams

Regional Final Team Standings
  1. Towson University
  2. Community College of Baltimore County
  3. Millersvile University
Regional Final Teams
  1. Asheville-Buncombe Technical College
  2. Community College of Baltimore County
  3. Millersville University
  4. Towson University
  5. University of Maryland, Baltimore County
2010 Qualifying Round Teams
  1. Anne Arundel Community College
  2. Asheville-Buncombe Technical College
  3. Catawba Valley Community College
  4. Community College of Baltimore County
  5. George Mason University
  6. George Washington University
  7. James Madison University
  8. Millersville University
  9. Northern Virginia Community College
  10. Prince George’s Community College
  11. Towson University
  12. University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  13. University of Maryland, College Park
  14. University of Pittsburgh
  15. Wilmington University

Sponsors & Supporters

  • Platinum: Boeing Corporation, Northrop Grumman Corporation
  • Gold: CSC, Tenable Network Security
  • Supporters: Cisco, Solera Networks, SAIC
National Science Foundation CyberWATCH Center:
  • Dr. Costis Toregas
  • Dr. Bob Spear
Prince George’s Community College Community College of Baltimore County White Wolf Security:
  • Tim Rosenberg
  • Dwight Hobbs
  • Juan Botero
  • Lina Almansa
  • William Britt (Billy)
  • Steven Lyons
  • Justin Schneiderman
  • Paul Asadoorian
  • Larry Pesce
  • Darren Wigley
  • Kerry McKay: George Washington University
  • Michael Dougherty: Bogdan Computer Services, Inc.
  • Matt Cerney: Drexel University
  • Dr. Jide Odubiyi: SEGMA, LLC
Student teams and faculty from:
  • Anne Arundel Community College
  • Asheville-Buncombe Technical College
  • Catawba Valley Community College
  • Community College of Baltimore County
  • George Mason University
  • George Washington University
  • James Madison University
  • Millersville University
  • Northern Virginia Community College
  • Prince George’s Community College
  • Towson University
  • University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • University of Maryland, College Park
  • University of Pittsburgh
  • Wilmington University