MACCDC 2013 Scenario Summary

The country of Hackistan was recently liberated by a coalition of international forces led by the United States.

On April 12 and 13, 2013, citizens of Hackistan will be voting in the country’s first democratic election. Members of the US military will be providing election oversight and security. Current intelligence reports indicate that terrorist groups are planning on a series of physical and cyber attacks to disrupt and/or control the election process.

Hackistan is divided into eight voting districts. Each voting district will have its own self-contained electronic voting system and military support network, including command and control, classified and unclassified networks, etc.

An HQ detachment will be providing communication oversight and operating as a NOC/SOC for the event. (Tentative)

Each defending team represents a group of civilian contractors and is responsible for protecting their district’s network assets, coordinating communications with upper echelons (HQ unit), and supporting deployed assets in the field.

E-Voting Scenario

Spectators and players will receive a voter ID card when they register at the event. The ID card will be theirs to protect and have a fictional name and voting district (1–8, or maybe names) on it.

During the event, those with a voter ID card can approach the appropriate kiosk, swipe their card, and place their vote. Voters may vote for:

  • President and vice president
  • Two district representatives
  • New country name
  • New country flag
  • National animal

Straight party voting will be allowed.

Red Cell Goals Related to the Election

  • Shut down the voting system (lowest priority)
  • Invalidate the election with greater than 100% of the registered voters to vote
  • Invalidate the election with voters voting more than once
  • Get their candidate elected (highest priority)

Regional Final Standings

  1. Millersville University, PA
  2. North Carolina State University, NC
  3. Radford University, VA
  4. University of Maryland University College, MD
  5. Capitol College, MD
  6. Anne Arundel Community College, MD
  7. University of Maryland, College Park, MD
  8. Craven Community College, NC

2013 Qualifying Round Teams

Anne Arundel Community College, MD

Asheville-Buncombe Technical CC, NC

Bloomsburg University, PA

Bowie State University, MD

Capitol College, MD

Catawba Valley Community College, NC

Community College of Baltimore County, MD

Craven Community College, NC

Delaware Technical and CC, DE

East Carolina University, NC

George Mason University, VA

George Washington University, DC

Hagerstown Community College, MD

Howard Community College, MD

James Madison University, VA

Liberty University, VA

Marshall University, WV

Millersville University, PA

Montgomery College, MD

North Carolina State University, NC

Prince George’s Community College, MD

Radford University, VA

Towson University, MD

University of Maryland, Baltimore County, MD

University of Maryland, College Park, MD

University of Maryland University College, MD

West Virginia University, WV

Wilmington University, DE


Cypherpath (Diamond)

BAE Systems (Platinum)

iForm Builder (Platinum)

Neustar (Platinum)

Northrop Grumman (Platinum)

PPL Corporation (Platinum)

Raytheon Company (Platinum)

Solera Networks (Platinum)

US Army Intelligence and Security Command – INSCOM (Platinum)

US Department of Homeland Security (Platinum)

Deloitte (Gold)

RSA (Gold)

Tenable Network Security (Gold)

MITRE (Silver)

SPAWAR (Silver)

Splunk (Silver)

Core Security (Supporter)

iSIGHT Partners (Supporter)

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (Supporter)

National CyberWatch Center (Host/Coordinator)

National Science Foundation (Supporter)

Nova Labs (Supporter)

Prince George’s Community College (Supporter)

Unallocated Space (Supporter)

National Science Foundation

Black Team:

Michael Dougherty

Marvin Williams

White Team Coordinator:

Matt Cerny

Law Enforcement Coordinator:

Brian Andrzejewski


Jeffrey Alderdice: First Lieutenant (1LT), Maryland Defense Force

Kevin Baun: First Lieutenant (1LT), Maryland Defense Force

Garrettson Blight: Lieutenant (LT), United States Navy Reserve

Eric Boateng: Lieutenant Junior (LTJG), United States Navy Reserve

Joe Carnell: Commander (CMR), United States Navy Reserve

Joseph Chadwick: Lieutenant Colonel (LTC), Maryland Defense Force

Paul Delaney: Captain (CPT), Maryland Defense Force

John Schott: Lieutenant Colonel (LTC), Maryland Army National Guard

Gary Stoneburner: Colonel (COL), Maryland Defense Force

Mike Sheffer: Major (MAJ), Maryland Defense Force

iSIGHT Partners:

Tim Rosenberg

Dwight Hobbs

Thomas Blackard

Justin Wray

Sean Catlett


Larry Pesce

Darren Wigley

Red Team:

Mark Reinsfelder

Matt Wines

Ben Heise

Brad Bowers

Michael LaSalvia

Sam Kinch

Raphael Mudge

Gerry Brunelle

Scott Hazel

Rob Fuller

Georgia Weideman

Jesse Varsalone

Chris Stoneburner

Chris Plummer

Chase Cunningham

Vlad Gostomelsky

Jesse Hudlow

Steve Collmann

Jeff Scaparra

Andrew Santell

National CyberWatch Center:

Casey W. O’Brien

Dr. Costis Toregas

Lewis Lightner (MACCDC Competition Director)

Dr. Davina Pruitt-Mentle

Teri Kepner

Fran Melvin

Diane Webb

John Sener

Michael Burt

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (APL):

Charlie Frick

Mike Silberglitt

Laura Nolan

Brian Kim

Michael Fevang

Bill Rogers

David Vespoint

Gerry Bennet

Ed Whitman

Jim Kave

Christine Krider

Dwight Carr

Adam Sawyer

Gary Stoneburner

Christian Stoneburner

Molly Gavin

Carlos Alfonso

Chris Perkins

Gary Wingate

Al Rutherford

Jose Suarez

Brian Garofalo

Keith Wichmann

Jeffery James

Stephen Giguere

Troy Hanson

James Castle

Prince George’s Community College:

Dr. Charlene Dukes

Dr. Sandy Dunnington


Juan Botero

Lina Almansa

All the Volunteers


Johns Hopkins University
Applied Physics Laboratory
Kossiakoff Center
11100 Johns Hopkins Road
Laurel, Maryland 20723-6005


April 10–13, 2013

Past Competitions