MACCDC 2012 Scenario Summary

This year’s scenario involves student teams working for the Hospital of the East Collective (HEC); a collective of 8 regional hospitals with the mission to provide quality health services and facilities for the community, to promote wellness, to relieve suffering, and to restore health as swiftly, safely, and humanely as can be done, consistent with the best service provided at the highest value for all concerned.

In late 2011, the Board hired an outside consulting team to completely update the Electronic Medical Record (EMR) solution. At the same time, it was decided to network all 8 regional facilities with the central hospital (HQ). This move makes HEC compliant with the new federal regulations and allows HEC to participate in the Greater East Health Information Exchange.

Final Standings

  1. Towson University (MD)
  2. Millersville University (PA)
  3. James Madison University (VA)/Radford University (VA) – tie

Regional Round Teams

Capitol College (Maryland)

Howard Community College (Maryland)

James Madison University (Virginia)

Millersville University (Pennsylvania)

Radford University (Virginia)

Towson University (Maryland)

University of Maryland, Baltimore County (Maryland)

West Virginia University (West Virginia)

Virtual Qualifying Round Teams

Anne Arundel Community College (MD)

Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College (NC)

Bowie State University (MD)

Capitol College (MD)

Catawba Valley Community College (NC)

Community College of Baltimore County (MD)

Craven Community College (NC)

Delaware Technical and Community College (DE)

George Mason University (VA)

George Washington University (DC)

Hagerstown Community College (MD)

Howard Community College (MD)

James Madison University (VA)

Liberty University (VA)

Millersville University (PA)

Norfolk State University (VA)

Northern Virginia Community College (VA)

Prince George’s Community College (MD)

Radford University (VA)

Towson University (MD)

University of Maryland, Baltimore County (MD)

University of Maryland, College Park (MD)

University of Maryland University College (MD)

West Virginia University (WV)

Wilmington University (DE)


US Army Intelligence and Security Command – INSCOM (Diamond)

Booz Allen Hamilton (Platinum)

Department of Homeland Security (Platinum)

EC-Council (Platinum)

FireEye (Platinum)

Neustar (Platinum)

Northrop Grumman (Platinum)

Solera Networks (Platinum)

Tenable Network Security (Gold)

CyberCenter at Anne Arundel Community College (Silver)

CTI@bwtech (Silver)

Deloitte (Silver)

MITRE (Silver)

SPAWAR (Silver)

TASC (Silver)

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Community College of Baltimore County

Prince George’s Community College

National Science Foundation

iSIGHT Partners

National Science Foundation

Operations/Gold Team:

Michael Dougherty

Kerry McKay

Lewis Lightner

Justin Monk

Daniel Mroz

Michael Mazikas

Rebecca Dorffner

White Team Coordinator:

Matt Cerny

Law Enforcement Coordinator:

Matthew McFadden

iSIGHT Partners:

Tim Rosenberg

Dwight Hobbs

Thomas Blackard


Paul Asadoorian

John Strand

Larry Pesce

Darren Wigley

Mike Perez

Red Team:

Justin Wray

Mark Reinsfelder

Matt Wines

Ben Heise

Brad Bowers

Michael LaSalvia

Sam Kinch

Raphael Mudge

Gerry Brunelle

Scott Hazel

Rob Fuller

Georgia Weideman

Jesse Varsalone

Chris Stoneburner

Chris Plummer

Chase Cunningham

Vlad Gostomelsky

Jesse Hudlow

Steve Collmann

Jeff Scaparra

Andrew Santell

CyberWatch Center:

Casey W. O’Brien

Dr. Costis Toregas

Lewis Lightner

Dr. Davina Pruitt-Mentle

Dr. Bob Spear

Dr. Vera Zdravkovich

Carrie Leary

Teri Kepner

Fran Melvin

Diane Webb

Dr. Portia Pusey

John Sener

Michael Burt

Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory (APL):

Jay Turner

Charlie Frick

Mark Matties

Laura Nolan

Kristi Marren

Geoff Brown

Jim Kave

Stacy Murphy

Gina Ellrich

Michael Silberglitt

Josh Smith


Casey W. O’Brien (Producer)

Neil Rubenstein (Executive Producer)

John O’Brien (Director)

Steve Ferraro (Engineer in Charge)

David Walton (Camera Operator/Lighting Director)

Lee Hobson (Camera Operator)

Bill Rogers (Camera Operator/Set construction)

David Soisson (Graphic Design/Playback)

Bill Kaplan (Chief Audio Engineer)

David Vespoint (Audio 2)

Nick Brezzell (Grip)

Ed Whitman (Still Photographer)

Charles Frick (Content Analyst/Pit Talent)

Larry Pesce (Content Analyst/Pit Talent)

Cara Ferraro (Production Assistant)

John Strand (Host)

Paul Asadoorian (Host)

Dr. Costis Toregas (CEO/Talent)

Prince George’s Community College:

Dr. Charlene Dukes

Dr. Sandy Dunnington

Fran Melvin

Diane Webb

Teri Kepner

Michael Burt

Community College of Baltimore County:

Casey W. O’Brien

Mike Netzer

Noell Damron

Jesse Varsalone

Jeremy Hoffman

Joel Martin

Lou Lewis


Juan Botero

Lina Almansa

All the Volunteers


Johns Hopkins University
Applied Physics Laboratory
Kossiakoff Center
11100 Johns Hopkins Road
Laurel, Maryland 20723-6005


March 14–17, 2012

Past Competitions